A.C.R.O.N.Y.M.S.

Free Week at 4F,1H and this week has gotten past me.I have been trying to do some catch-up reading, but have gotten in virtually no writing. Not one letter.

I have to admit that I have had people in and out , we’ve had doctors’ appointments for my husband and for myself, two of them out-of-town, which take hours and hours away from the keyboard and away from reading.

One thing in my reading recently that I have found a problem is that some writers throw acronyms at their readers without an initial explanation; that is really bothersome.

I don’t like writers who ‘write-down’ to readers, but to exclude a large number of your readership into your circle seems like an insult. One has to try to guess, which isn’t easy , or one must stop and look up the initials.

For instance, nearly everyone would know that “U.N.” stand for “United Nations”, but how many readily know what the “UNODC” is? It is the “United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime”, in case, like me, you did not know. A person could get the idea of what it DID by reading it in context, but really, I could not decipher the actual organization on my own.

Another book that I just cracked open to check out on the advice of a friend had the narrator talking about AIGA awards. He said it twice. I figured it was for his graphic designs, but I had no idea WHAT the organization was: it is the American Institute of Graphic Arts. Did you know that one? I let it slide the first time but I could not the second time; I had to stop reading to look it up. I am not sure I will finish the book, no matter who suggested it. I found it pretentious.

These are just a few examples. I am a pretty well-read person, who tried to keep up on matters of the world, but don’t you think a writer should incorporate the full name of organizations into their work before they start using acronyms, (even the better known ones)? After all, I think every writer would like to think that readers from all over, (and those in the future), would read their works.

So let me know what you think, and I’ll leave less long-winded post than usual this week!

[By the way, mine above in the title stands for: Authors Confusing Readers Offering Nonhelpful, Yawn-inspiring,Mystifying, Subjects]

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in America, authors, Books, free week, reading, Tonette Joyce, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A.C.R.O.N.Y.M.S.

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    How long did it take you to come up with that translation of your acronym? When I see one I don’t know I spend time going back to see if I’ve missed it – sometimes I skim and it doesn’t register that I’ve already read the meaning a chapter or two back. I think it sticks in my head better if they put the title WITH the acronym, like “She was a card-carrying member of the Red Hat Society, also known as the RHS.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Patty, that is what I mean…”…when it came to the attention of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime…” and then to say, “Frederico was assigned to the UNODC”, that would be the way to do it.
      How long did it take for my acronym for ACRONYM? Not long.It was kind of a last minute thought. The only time I really took was whether to make the A stand for “acronym” or “author”, and it took a moment to come up with a “Y” word.

      Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    I find that a LOT in newspaper articles — and even national magazines. Typically, I’ll go back through the preceding paragraphs and try to search out the full wording. Sometimes it’s present and I just overlooked it. But sometimes it’s not there at all (or possibly edited out after the author submitted).
    I also find a problem — usually later in long articles — where a surname appears. And I’m thinking, “who is Jones?” So I dutifully backtrack until I locate the first mention of Jones.
    In good writing, such as the military history I read a lot of, the authors re-establish identities as new chapters begin, or as sections shift during a chapter. Or they remind the reader of the context of Jones, by his position or his location in the battle or theater.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are absolutely correct; I do see the acronym problem in articles and I have also tried to figure out who “Jones” is. It may well be bad editing; I had not thought of that possibility.

      Like

Leave a Reply

