One Man’s Junk…

ToysThis week, one of the foxes asked whether we’re yard and garage sale hosts or shoppers. Back when my kids were young, I’d host a garage sale once a year to help clear out clothes and toys we’d outgrown, worn-out furnishings, and things we just didn’t have a use for any more. They took a lot of work, but my girls were very helpful, especially since they got a share of the money we took in. Since we live in a busy suburb, it was a social occasion, where people would come to chat as much as to shop. Once in a while we’d have neighborhood sales, where several homes on the street would have sales on the same day. People from other neighborhoods could park at the end of the street and just walk from house to house.

As the kids left home, so did most of their stuff. I had big plans for the bedrooms they vacated. One room, I decided, would be a guest room, and the other would be my sewing room. But that plan didn’t quite work out. I took a part-time job at a nearby grocery/department store, started teaching at the university, and started writing. I joined two sewing groups, two writing groups, and three musical groups. There was no time to stop at other people’s garage sales, let alone have one of my own. And somehow, even with only two of us in this three-bedroom house, “stuff” accumulates, despite my semi-annual trips to donate clothes and other unused items.

junkI’ve been retired for twelve years now. For some reason, I’ve gotten busier and busier. I still have things that should have been discarded or given away long ago. But I’m not inclined to go through the work of having a sale at my house. It seems they’ve become less popular in my neighborhood. For the past few summers I’ve seen less than a half dozen per year. So this past spring, when I made a resolution to clear out the clutter in the house, I boxed things up and put them in my trunk. I made it a goal to fill at least one box (of things to get rid of) a day during the month of May – and I succeeded! When the trunk was full, I drove to a nearby charity shop and dropped them off. I’ve made seven trips so far, and I don’t seem to have made a dent in the clutter. And now I’ve got to help my mom clear out sixty years of clutter in her home so that she can move to a smaller place. There is enough “stuff” there to supply half a dozen garage sales. I guess the people at the charity shop are going to know me really well by the time I’m through!

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in Life, Patricia Kiyono and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Man’s Junk…

  1. Wow, good luck. I have a LOT of clutter that I was making headway into, then all of my back problems hit. Actually, that is my biggest goal:to be able to continue the decluttering process.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      It’s my least favorite task, but I’m trying to make myself clear things out on a regular basis. I was making headway, but I’ve been busy taking care of mom for the last month and it looks like our trials are just beginning – so it may be some time before I can get back to my own decluttering!

      Like

  2. It always amazes me that you can find the time to do all the things that you do.
    Sounds like you will be even busier over the next several months.

    I think garage sales are more fun when you have someone to help you and to talk to while waiting on costumers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      I agree! I’ve had friends in other neighborhoods who have held them and let me add my things over to their sales. That really cuts down on the work. But as I said, they’ve really gone down in popularity around here.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. maryel0621 says:

    I used to go to garage sales a lot, not too many anymore though. I did get a baby gate for $1.00 at one yesterday though. I love a good deal! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Good deals are wonderful, aren’t they? I just got rid of a baby gate – too bad we don’t live closer. Thanks so much for stopping in!

      Like

  4. jeff7salter says:

    Like you, I’ve found the life of retirement to SEEM just as busy as when I was working full-time. Quite puzzling.
    I distinctly remember thinking, when I’d hear retired friends or relatives complain about how “busy” they were, that they were full of baloney (bologna). But now I hear myself saying the same thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Isn’t it amazing how quickly your “free time” fills up? I don’t mind busy days, as you well know, but I wish I could find a cure for my house filling up with stuff.

      Like

Leave a Reply

