Loved My Bikes As A Kid

And Continued Riding Until My Early 40s

By Jeff Salter

Topic: As a kid, did you ride a bicycle? Tell us about the bike, where you rode it, who you rode with, etc. Did you continue riding bikes as a grown-up?

I don’t recall what specifically prompted me to supply this topic for our schedule, but I spent many enjoyable experiences on the various bikes I’ve owned. Bear with me as I cycle my way down this particular Memory Lane.

Prior to my 1st grade year, I had an old, well-used tricycle… on which I imagined myself the world’s fastest kid on three wheels. At some point during our year in a rental house at 23rd & Jefferson Ave. in Covington LA, I was provided with a used 20” bike. I assume it had training wheels to begin with, though I don’t actually recall using them. What I do remember is my mom walking with me (and the bike) the half-block to the elementary school playground where she patiently assisted me in acquiring balance, momentum, and speed with the training wheels OFF. After that, I fancied myself the world’s fastest kid on TWO wheels!

The following year, we moved to 10th & Madison St. in the same city… and the elementary school also moved to 17th street [about nine blocks away]. There were many days over the next three or four years that I rode that little bike to and from school.

In third grade, a bully stole my bike and my dad phoned the father of the kid who stole it. That father said he didn’t know anything about any theft, but there WAS a bike that appeared in the ditch in his front yard. My dad got the address and we drove over there, retrieved my bike, and life went on.

Our new neighborhood was sparsely populated at first, with thick woods on three sides of us. The roads were still gravel! My point is that there was very little vehicular traffic and we were able to ride just about anywhere we wanted.

This was the type Schwinn bike I had when the bike was new. But picture it with rust, without the headlight, without the rear carrier, without the chain guard… and that middle section (presumably held a battery) was just an empty shell. The one I received DID still have that unusual, heavy spring “shock absorber” at the top of the front fork.

At some point, possibly as early as 5th grade, but definitely by the time I reached junior high school in 6th grade, I was given a heavily used – one could say “battered” – 24 inch Schwinn. In its prime, it had been a luxury bike: with some sort of battery contraption (and a push button) – likely to operate the headlight – and a deluxe chain guard and fancy rear “carrier.” But by the time it reached me, it was a rusted hulk: no battery, no button, no headlight, no chain guard, and no carrier. What it DID have was a “shock absorbing” spring at the front fork — a feature I’ve never seen on any other bike. I rode that bike to school quite a lot – about 14 blocks each way – and to my friend’s house (about the same distance), and to my grandmother’s house (about 16 blocks away). Also from school to my after-school part-time job downtown. The primary “dangers” of each of those routes was crossing the heavily-trafficked 21st Street (also known as Highway 190 to Hammond).

My big brother had a paper route for a few years and I often rode along with him. I assume it was partly to learn his route – since I filled in for him a few times – but mainly because I enjoyed being with my brother.

I don’t recall the year (definitely early 1960s), but my brother and I rode our bikes all the way into town, through town, across the Bogue Falaya Bridge, and onto Claiborne Hill, in the evening… so we could pay to jump on trampolines. I believe it was already after dark when we rode back home those 3+ miles.

As people moved into our neighborhood and began building houses, we encountered kids — though most were a bit younger than me. We’d often hook up for bike “games” in which we mostly raced around the neighborhood playing a sort of unstructured “tag” activity. It was relatively pointless, but good exercise.

I don’t think my Schwinn made the trip with me to Iowa for my sophomore year. But while I was there, I traded with a new buddy — his well-used 26 inch bike for my archery set (and I think I had to toss in some other item, now forgotten). That bike served me for much of my young adulthood, including when my own kids were youngsters.

But I’m getting ahead of my story.

When I returned (to Louisiana) from Iowa in the summer of 1966, I bought a new 3-speed bike with hand brakes — the only bike I ever purchased new and my first with hand-brakes. By that time, I had a vehicle driving license… but no family vehicle to drive (except on rare occasions). So that bike was my means of transportation which included: (1) riding it to work downtown when I had a Saturday job at a feed store, and (2) riding to the house of a girl I was dating at the time. Later, I ended up trading that bike to my neighbor for the beat-up 1960 Ford Fairlane that his dad wanted to get rid of. I had to offer up more than the bike for that trade, but I no longer recall what else was involved.

Fast-forward through Air Force basic training, my first duty station in NM, my remote Arctic tour in northwest Greenland… and my final duty assignment in Sacramento. For that CA assignment, we had moved most of our household goods, including my bike and my wife’s. We had a young son at that point and he rode on the back of my wife’s bike in a child seat. We were as poor as church mice, so much of our free entertainment during moderate weather was to ride our bikes. There was a little park not far away, a retail strip down the highway, and a large empty lot with lots of hills. We rode all over those.

After the Air Force, and having moved back to Covington, we rode bikes all over the neighborhood [the same house where my grandmother had previously lived]. I was a full-time student on the G.I. Bill and my wife worked a part time job. While she worked, I kept our young son and he rode on my bike with his feet in my “saddlebag” wire baskets (fixed to the rear wheel axle) and a small cushion for his keester.

When I commuted to Hammond for the university, I often rode my bike to the intersection where the free university bus stopped to pick up commuters. [I chained it to a guy-wire.]

When I’d drive to Keesler AFB for my AF Reserve drill weekends, I’d carry my bike inside my VW Bus. While on the base – to save gasoline expense – I’d do almost all my traveling by bike.

I think we had our bikes with us while I was in LSU grad school in Baton Rouge, but I don’t remember any particular biking. That was a large, busy city and I was in class full time and working part-time… so I didn’t experience much recreation, anyhow.

During our 2.5 years in Jonesville (LA), we rode our bikes a lot… now with a young daughter in the “baby” seat and our son riding his own 20 inch bike. We rode in our neighborhood, to a park, to the river levee area, and to the site of a bridge under construction. We must’ve stood out in some respect because a reporter with the local weekly newspaper said she was going to write a feature about our family biking. Alas, she never got around to it.

For about the first half of our 26 years in Bossier City (LA), we rode bikes a bit, too. By then both kids had their own bikes and sometimes all four of us set out in our fairly quiet neighborhood, across the ditch to the school yards, or even a few miles down a relatively un-trafficked street to the east.

I should note that I did most of my own bike maintenance, which was primarily tires and tubes… but also dealing with seats, handlebars, chains, and anything else that cropped up.

I don’t recall exactly when we stopped riding bikes or exactly why. But I know I didn’t ride much at all after 1992, because that was the onset of my fibromyalgia and osteo-arthritis. That bike I’d traded for in Iowa (in 1965-66) served me well for parts of four decades! Before we left Louisiana for Kentucky (mid 2006), I donated that bike to Goodwill … and I hope its new owner enjoys it as much as I did.

Question: What about YOU? Did you ride bikes much as a kid? Did you continue as an adult?

[JLS # 698]

About Jeff Salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Fourteen completed novels and four completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Cowboy Out of Time" -- Apr. 2019 /// "Double Down Trouble" -- June 2018 /// "Not Easy Being Android" -- Feb. 2018 /// "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 /// "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 /// "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015 /// "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015 /// "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015 /// "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014 /// "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014 /// "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014 /// "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014 /// "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013 /// "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013 /// "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013 /// "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012 /// "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012 /// Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in author's life, experiences, Family, hobbies, Jeff Salter, lifestyles, vehicles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Loved My Bikes As A Kid

  1. Anonymous says:

    I distinctly remember three bikes as I grew up. The first two wheeler actually had solid rubber tires and it weighed a ton! Outfitted with training wheels, I, my brother and sister, as well as half the neighborhood learned to ride on it as well. Later I had a gold schwinn with the banana seat and high rise handlebars. It was a single speed bike with the brakes at the pedal. When I was a young teen, I saved my pennies while working at a Chevron gas station, and bought a Raleigh 3 speed, copper brown, with brakes on the handlebars. I outfitted it with a light that flipped to the tire to generate its power, and an odometer, so I could keep track of my miles. That was the bike that brought me my freedom to ride all over the neighborhood. Whenever my grandma would make potato pancakes, she’d give me a call, and off to her house I rode. Ah, the life of a kid! When I was 15, riding around town one day, I spotted a 1954 Chevy panel truck hidden under a pine tree in a back yard. I made a deal with the owner, and my parents had it towed to my house. I started the restoration, and when I turned 16 it was the beginning of my driving adventures, and the poor old Raleigh was left to collect dust. Now, my bike riding days are few and far between, mostly when my wife and I go camping.

    Great blog, Jeff. You sure brought back a lot of memories!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anonymous says:

      I’m not sure why the reply was from, anonymous. It’s me, Steve VanHorn, to clarify. Haha!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jeff Salter says:

      Wonderful experiences, Steve. And I well-remember the extra ZOW I got out of having three “speeds” (actually 3 gear ratios). [I also recall that occasionally the bike would slip out of “gear” and I had to pedal backwards for a few strokes to re-engage… or something like that.]
      No doubt that ’54 Chevy panel truck was the genesis of your life-long love of restoring vehicles!

      Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Fun trip down your memory lane.

    I still have my blue tricycle. Since it was made from indestructible metal, I not only used it to ride around my house, it I used it as a battering ram into our equally stout bulldog. She incidentally never budged.

    I graduated from the trike to my beloved pink Huffy bike which I aptly named Dixie. I rode her until she was traded in for a horse and 3-wheeler.

    I’ve owned bikes since then, and still have a couple. I used to ride with my kids, but as life moves on, so did their interests.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jeff Salter says:

      Jenn, it sounds like you’ve driven every kind of vehicle except pirate ships!

      If you had the opportunity, now, do you think you’d remember how to ride a bike? I’ve heard it said that one never forgets…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Nice memories! My kids rode bikes more than I did. I think part of it is because my house was farther from a busy street, and partly because I wasn’t as much of a worrier as my mom. But like me, once they got to junior high, the bikes sat unused. My grandkids seem to be the same. Unless people join a biking group or is into racing, no one really rides around here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jeff Salter says:

      It’s rather sad that we — who would’ve enjoyed access to plentiful biking trails — had few to choose from. Now they’re more accessible… and we’re (mostly) too infirmed to take advantage of them.

      Like

  4. No biking memories at all. In fact,it’s going to be a very short post tomorrow, but I will show up.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It sounds like you had some wonderful family times while biking together.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anonymous says:

    With four brothers, the 50s and 60s were bikecentric. We rode everywhere. I had a paper route and the bike was necessary. My father bought us a bike at a police auction for $1.00. It had half of the handle bar – a piece of wood was the other half. One pedal – again a piece of wood for the other pedal. It was brush painted orange and hand big balloon tires. We rode three on a bike. One sitting on the saddle and pedaling and steering – one on the crossbar – and one on the handlebars. One day a policeman pulled us over and accused us of stealing the bike. He could not accept that someone’s father would by that bike for his kids. We lived just around the corner – so he followed us home and asked my father if we were telling the truth. Of course my father said “yes”. I’m pretty sure we paid the price for embarasing him…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jeff Salter says:

      Thanks for visiting today, Joe. You and your brothers must’ve been quite a handful. It’s a shame you weren’t able to each have a bike — even if it was a beat-up wreck. As long as it rolled and pedaled… and you could steer — a bike would be a bike.

      Like

  7. Jackie Zack says:

    Yes, I loved riding a bike when I was a kid. The neighborhood kids and I would ride bikes and play a game called “ditch ’em” where either you tried to get away or chase. My mom and I rode a tandem in the neighborhoods – so much fun. We would also ride to my aunt’s home (my mom’s sister) and visit. Both of the bikes were Schwinn bikes. Good memories. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jackie Zack says:

    I’m not sure if I have a picture of it. I’ll have to do some digging! I googled pictures of Schwinn tandems from the 60s and found pictures of a brown one and one that was a dark green. Ours was blue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment