My First Set of Wheels

Image from Depositphotos.com

Our Resident Hound asked, “As a kid, did you ride a bicycle? Tell us about the bike, where you rode it, who you rode with, etc. Did you continue riding bikes as a grown-up?”

I had one bike growing up. My parents got it for me when I was in the third grade. It was blue, and it was a basic one with coaster brakes. I had a difficult time learning how to ride it and suffered lots of bruises before I got the hang of it. My family lived in a quiet suburban neighborhood with sidewalks, and my mom was quite protective, so my bike rides were limited to a five-block radius that made up about half of the local elementary school district. A busy road called Division Avenue separated our half from the other half of the district, and it wasn’t until I was in junior high that I was allowed to cross that busy street to visit some of my other school friends.

Riding bikes wasn’t something we did for recreation. Once I learned how, it was simply a mode of transportation to get to a friend’s home. My friends and I didn’t ride bikes together – probably because their moms also didn’t like them going any farther than they could see. I never rode my bike to school – maybe I was afraid of it being stolen, or maybe I had too much stuff and I didn’t have a basket on the bike. Or maybe it was because I had to walk with my little brother. I really don’t remember why, just that my bike stayed home.

I don’t remember riding my bike much after elementary school. Again, I don’t remember why. Maybe I got involved in activities that required transportation to places farther than my parents would allow me to ride. Also, the school district is home to a GM plant and a furniture factory, and road traffic is quite busy at certain times of the day, so maybe that’s another reason bike riding isn’t a preferred mode of transportation. The junior high and high school were about five blocks from my house, in the opposite direction of the elementary school. I do remember there were bike racks at both buildings, and they were always full, so maybe I didn’t want my bike crammed in between others. Plus, the racks were on the opposite side of the building from the crosswalk where I’d go to return home. Maybe I figured that by the time I fought the crowd to get to my bike, got it unlocked, and walked it to the crosswalk, I could be halfway home on foot. Anyway, my bike was largely unused from that time on.

I don’t know when my dad got rid of that bike, but I never really rode again. I bought bikes for my kids and tried to ride them from time to time, but I never learned to use hand brakes. The only pedaling I’ve done since grade school has been in a gym.

Was bike-riding a big part of your youth? If so, do you still ride?

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in childhood, experiences, memories, Patricia Kiyono and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My First Set of Wheels

  1. “Just a mode of transportation”; I have a feeling that will not be a common phrase here.
    I have very little to say on Friday, as I was never a bike person.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      We don’t all have or enjoy the same experiences. With all the problems I had learning to ride, I wasn’t a bike person either.

      Like

  2. Jeff Salter says:

    I can certainly see how it would put a crimp in “recreational” riding to live near heavily-trafficked streets.

    I have lots of bike stories to share — including the time mine was stolen — so stay tuned for Hound Day.

    Like

  3. Elaine Cantrell says:

    Oh yes, we loved our bikes. Tell you more on Wednesday

    Like

  4. Your 5 block radius sounds a lot like mine was I was a kid. We weren’t allowed to go near the busy roads. One was over the big set of railroad tracks, the other was a block away from us, and another one down past the elementary school. It still gave us a pretty decent size area to ride our bikes in since that’s where nearly all our friends lived until we hit middle school.

    Like

Leave a comment