I Had a Great Time Until I Didn’t

 “As a kid, did you ride a bicycle? Tell us about the bike, where you rode it, who you rode with, etc. Did you continue riding bikes as a grown-up?”

I wish I could remember when I got my first bike, I don’t think I was too old when I got it. I think it was when we moved to a suburb a few miles out of town. There wasn’t a lot of traffic in the old days, so my parents weren’t afraid we’d get kidnapped or hit by a car. There was a family of girls who lived nearby so most of the time we rode together. I always enjoyed my bike very much, but once my parents gave me a horse for Christmas I found that I’d far rather ride her than a bike.

Before I abandoned the bike I had a few hair raising experiences. The first one I remember was getting on the bike intending to ride it to the bottom of a pretty steep hill. Funny thing though. The chain came off the bike, and it literally flew down that hill. I knew better than to try to stop at that speed so I just held on until it finally glided to a stop. I wasn’t hurt, but I was very traumatized.

Another incident happened when my cousin came to visit. My sister loaned her bike to the cousin and off the two of us went. Everything was going well until my cousin hit a patch of loose gravel in the road and down she went. She was bleeding from a bad cut on her chin, and she wouldn’t get up. She just lay in the road moaning. I ran to a house and asked them to call my dad. He came right away, and my cousin had to get stitches and have a tooth repaired.

The last time I rode a bike my kids and I were just cruising around the neighborhood when the hand brake broke and got tangled in the spokes of the front wheel. The bike came to an abrupt end and threw me over the handlebars. The kids were scared and ran for their father. I’m glad he came quickly because I couldn’t get up, and the place where I was lying was definitely unsafe. I had a splitting headache for three or four days after that. I still think I had a concussion, but were leaving for vacation the next day so I didn’t say anything.

What about you? As an adult do you still ride a bicycle? I don’t. I always intended that once the kids were out of school I’d buy myself another horse. I had lots more trouble with the bike than I did with the horse. In the long run I din’t get my horse either. Arthritis and Meniere’s Disease ( extreme vertigo) shot that dream down in a hurry. My husband was secretly glad I didn’t get another horse. He doesn’t like them. I have no idea why he thought that I didn’t know how he felt, LOL. After 51 years together the man’s an open book to me.

About Elaine Cantrell

Elaine Cantrell was born and raised in South Carolina. She has a Master’s Degree in Personnel Services from Clemson University and is a member of Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary sorority for women educators. She is also a member of Romance Writers of America. Her first novel A New Leaf was the 2003 winner of the Timeless Love Contest and was published in 2004 by Oak Tree Press. When she isn't writing you can find Elaine playing with her dog or maybe collecting more vintage Christmas ornaments
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Had a Great Time Until I Didn’t

  1. I have to laugh about your husband not knowing that you knew all about him! It’s the same with kids,right? They never think that we know them well.

    (I wish it worked in reverse, though.I am seldom understood.)

    Like

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    You’ve had some scary experiences! I think I’d rather ride a horse than a bike, too, but I don’t think I’d enjoy having to take care of one.

    Like

    • Elaine Cantrell says:

      Definitely! My horse liked me, but looking back on it I’m sure my bike didn’t care what happened to me. One horse is no trouble, but if you get any more it can be work for sure.

      Like

  3. Jeff Salter says:

    wow… that’s a lot of cycling mishaps. Being thrown over the handlebars certainly could’ve ended VERY badly. Obviously you were banged up quite a bit, but as the saying goes, “it could’ve been a lot worse.”
    Along the way, however, it sounds like you also had several pleasant experiences.
    That said, if I’d had a choice between horse and bike, I’m sure the horse would’ve won me over, too.

    Like

  4. Stacy McKitrick says:

    I think I was 9 when I got my first bike. Rode all over the place with my best friend. Heck, we TRIED to get lost one day. Didn’t happen. Amazing how times were like back in the 60s (I lived near Los Angeles then). Can’t imagine kids doing that today.

    I did have an accident on my bike. Broke my front tooth too. Didn’t keep me from riding, though. Becoming an adult, getting a driver’s license, kind of put a stop to my bike riding. Although, about 10 years ago, Hubby and I bought bikes and rode on the bike path along the river. It was fun, but a pain to load up the bikes to take them to the path. I don’t feel safe riding my bike in the street around here, so I don’t ride it all that often anymore.

    Although, we did ride some electric bikes in Monterey last month. Now THAT was fun!

    Like

  5. Elaine Cantrell says:

    Electric bikes are nice. Much better than what I had as a child. Growing up and working does’t leave most people with as much leisure time as we’d like either.

    Like

Leave a comment