Bike Free

The Hound asked for our bicycle memories, so here are mine:

Oh, yeah; I don’t have any.

I never had a bike, I never learned to ride.
My siblings did, so it’s not that bikes were unknown around me.
I won’t go into details.

However, I did like my trike, and we even had a very large one that had belonged to a relative. It was much bigger than your standard tricycle. I can’t remember how we obtained it, who owned it, or what happened to it.

It would probably command a lot of money from a collector now.

All I remember is that it didn’t roll well on grass, and I never took it across the street to the only side of the road that had the sidewalk.  

Speaking of which, we have serious cyclists come through town, and it can be quite dangerous on our (sometimes) two-lane state highways. I do not understand why they do not have cyclists facing traffic anymore. They tell me it is safer this way but for the life of me, I can’t see how. Some are very rude and will actually swerve toward the middle when you try to pass them. I have no idea how many of them are still alive to continue the practice.

However, the local government has made strides to put in bike lanes and give them some sidewalk-like walking/biking paths. Since many of the serious cyclists, (and serious runners), come into the area for Bourbon-related activities, (hopefully, they are not imbibing while riding), it has been a necessary safety expense,

and made my life a little calmer.

Sorry this is short, but I was late with last week’s and I wanted to show up.

I hope you have a great weekend!

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in America, childhood, Daily life, Family, history, Life, sports, Tonette Joyce and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bike Free

  1. I never understood why they don’t have cyclists ride against traffic as well. It seems to me that it would be safer if the cyclists could see traffic that is heading toward them.

    We do have bike paths through our town now. We have a lot of bike traffic as well, especially when RAGNRAI comes through here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RIGHT??? They USED to tell people to ride their bikes facing traffic, like you are supposed to do when walking.What the difference is,I do not know, except they gave bikers the same rights are drivers, which is wrong. If I went that slow in my car,I will be cited with impeding traffic. They need their own lanes, which is impractical on many roads that are one-and-a-half lanes wide in many places. The highways are another story.The state highway leading from the east is a very narrow two-laner in parts; it widens for a while then narrows, but it goes straight through the historic part of town.The other main artery,(heading north), gets up to six lanes).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff Salter says:

    Bicyclists on highways is a serious safety problem.

    Their visibility, speed, (occasionally) erratic moves, and other factors truly create problems — for them and for those of us in vehicles. Just yesterday, I encountered a cyclist on a busy street/highway. I had to dodge him on my way to pay the water bill… and also on my way back (along the same stretch). He had no shoulder to ride on… so it was either the highway or the grass bank. Very dangerous.

    If the trend (of biking) continues, I hope more towns create safer bike lanes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So manydemand ‘rights’ but ofthen those feel like they are immune to the laws and courtesies which they expect from motor vehicles. It makes my blood boil.
      I am all for bike lanes or having them on sidewalks, IF they are courteous.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I had one of those large tricycles, too. Somewhere, I have a picture of me on it. I’m wearing a smocked dress and patent leather shoes, so it must have been a Sunday afternoon and my mom was probably too busy with my baby brother to make sure I changed into play clothes. Dad was the photographer and he probably never noticed – just made sure I didn’t ride out of the driveway and into the street.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elaine Cantrell says:

    I had a larger bike too. I think it was a boy’s bike. A big boy.

    Like

  5. Love the site! I blog about the New York Mets, mets-madness.com feel free to check out my blog, this link is the correct one if you scroll all the way down on my blog you can subscribe, can you please follow mine too? Let’s help each other grow! -Mikayla

    Like

Leave a comment