D is for Dexy’s Midnight Runners

I was an 80s baby. I grew up in the MTV age. I actually remember when MTV first came out. I was instantly hooked. Yes, I remember watching The Boggles and Flock of Seagulls and all those other early video bands.

But even before the MTV age, music was a big part of my life. If you ever check out my blog, I do What’s Playing Wednesdays, or I talk about music frequently. When I was in college, I was a disc jockey for the college radio station. In other words, music is a way of life for me.

Which is why I’m taking the time this month to post music. Lucky me, I got D and the first band that came to mind was Dexy’s Midnight Runners. “Come On Eileen” has to be one of the most recognizable songs from the 80s.

I loved the mix of folk music and rock. I thought it was so cool when I was younger (all of 6) and yeah, I wanted to wear a pair of overalls and dance down the street. That never happened. Thank goodness. I have enough things from the 80s to cringe about.

Hope you enjoy!

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to D is for Dexy’s Midnight Runners

  1. Tonette says:

    Danica dreams Dexy…no wait, we did alliteration! We ALL have things we cringe about from the 80’s, Danica, and some of us should have been old enough to know better!
    Thanks for posting the video, as I nver would have thought to look it up and What a Time-trip it was!

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Hmm. Well this particular song didn’t grab me, Danica. But I rose from a different decade. LOL
    I’m quite familiar with the letter ‘D’ however —got plenty of those in my first two years of college. ha.

    Like

  3. See, I loved this one, too!! Great D choice, D!

    Like

Leave a comment