It’s Leap Day!

Leap Day

Photo from 123rf.com

My schedule is pretty full, so “extra time” doesn’t happen often. When I worked full time, snow days were treasured because that meant I could accomplish things that I normally couldn’t fit into my crowded days. I’d use that time to get some extra housekeeping done, or complete a project that had been languishing for a while.

This year we have an extra day, thanks to Leap Year. So today should be an extra day, right? Well, I guess that works in theory. I have one more day this year to get my writing goals done, one more day to break my record on Words With Friends. It’s one more day to exercise and get in shape before my doctor tells me to cut back on sweets, one more day to cuddle with my grandkids before they become adults and have kids of their own…you get the picture.

But today is also a Monday, which means that no matter what day of the month it is, there are certain things that need to be done today. One is to write and schedule this post. Another is to make sure that I have everything I need for Tuesday, which is my super-busy-start-early-and-don’t-stop-until-midnight day. And I have rehearsal for Community Band tonight. I also have social media tasks for myself, the publisher I work for, as well as one of my writing groups. So those will take up a good chunk of my time. And since my mother is leaving on a six-week trip on Wednesday and doesn’t like to drive in the winter, I need to take her on her last-minute errands.

So in many ways today isn’t an extra, it’s just another day. Now if I could find a way to create an eight-day week so that it truly was a bonus day, I’d probably do something like this:
~ An extra hour of sleep
~ Two or three extra hours of reading (more, if it’s a really good book)
~ Two or three extra hours of sewing/knitting/crafting (maybe more)
~ One or two hours of catching up on correspondence/busy work
~ Two or three extra hours of writing (maybe more)
~ A nice leisurely walk (weather permitting), or an hour in the gym
~ An extra hour to get ready for the next day – or the rest of the week!

That’s pretty much an entire day. How would you spend it?

 

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in Patricia Kiyono and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s Leap Day!

  1. I have a sister-in-law that today, Feb. 29th, is her birthday! When my mother taught Kindergarten at the Christian School, she had a student that’s birthday was Feb. 29th, and the little girls mother’s birthday was also Feb. 29th. The mathematical odds were astronomical.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      That’s amazing. I had a fellow music teacher who was born on the 29th. She always teased us about having one fourth the number of birthdays as the rest of us.

      Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Well, except for driving your mom around and playing music, your entire column could just as easily be posted on Hound Day this week. If I were a n’er-do-well and thought I wouldn’t get caught, I’d probably just steal your column for Thursday.
    Beautifully crafted, Patty, especially this line:
    “one more day to cuddle with my grandkids before they become adults and have kids of their own”

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Ha! You’re welcome to steal away, Jeff. I won’t tell! And yes, I relish cuddle time with the grandkids – seems like it wasn’t that long ago I was cuddling with their mother.

      Like

  3. Joselyn says:

    It should be required that Leap Day is on a weekend. I could always use extra time there, especially around 4 pm on Sunday when I remember all the things that need to be done for Monday. oof.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Scheduling Leap Day on a weekend is a brilliant idea! I remember panic setting in on Sunday afternoon, especially when I taught full-time.

      Like

  4. Wow.Do you ever actually have EXTRA time? I will have to give extra time some thought.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      I actually have more unscheduled time in the summer, when my college courses aren’t in session. As for EXTRA, well I guess that’s a matter of opinion!

      Like

Leave a comment