Snubbing Snacking

This week we were asked what, if anything, we snack on when we write.
This question was by my suggestion, but oddly, I usually don’t, snack while writing, that is.

I do some ‘writing’ while I am busy doing other things and sometimes I even jot them down. I used to write some when I was on a lunch break when I worked, but only after I wolfed something down. I might think of something before I go to bed and will write it in a notebook, but I make terrible notes. My mind goes faster than my hand and my once not-so-great handwriting has become really bad. Then I have to try to decipher what I wrote. I also make extensive changes, and the crossing-outs, the added words between the lines, the arrows that point where I prefer a line or paragraph makes it all very difficult to sort out and go over.

Therefore, I do most of my writing at the computer, The PC. I can see what I wrote without becoming cross-eyed. I can change and rearrange and everything is neat and readable.

I LOVE word-processing!

But it is hard to type and eat.
And when I am at the computer, getting into writing, at full steam ahead! I don’t often stop in the time I get to write. Sometimes, I don’t eat for a while. When I do,actually I stop to eat. (But I will probably also be reading.)

My husband initiated a no-drink-on-the-computer-desk rule as soon as our first PC went up. We had two preteen sons, (or maybe one just made it to 13), and Joe knew we needed to protect the investment we had just made. However, I have a short book case next to the most updated PC and that is where drinks go while I write.

I drink a lot. Unlike many of what people used to think about writers, I mean water. The water is often enhanced with stevia-based flavors, or I possibly have tea, and sometimes a coffee.

I learned a while back that although hard candies or some chewy ones are pleasant, I can’t afford the carbs or calories, and I find the wrappers distracting. Fruit is too sticky and even nuts take my hands off the keyboard. I just stop to sip when I go over lines I just wrote.

So, no, no snacks. I knew The Hound would come up with M&Ms …..and I was curious to learn more about my fellow Foxes, and anyone else who’d like to jump in on the conversation!

Anyone else snack while writing?

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Snubbing Snacking

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’m with you on the handwriting. I can write neatly, but I need to go slowly to keep it legible. When I’m writing fiction and the ideas are coming I need to type to keep things neat and organized for later. But I’m a die-hard snacker. I’ve been known to snack on crushed ice when I’m really committed to cutting calories. Wrappers from candy, string cheese, and other munchies don’t bother me while I’m working. I take care of them when I’m done (or maybe the next day).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    raising my hand — my handwriting is awful. There are literally times when I have no idea what that word was supposed to be… and it may only be guessed at by its context.
    Also agree with your praises to the miracle of word processing.
    It was only the other day that I was remembering how difficult it was to “write” and to “revise” and to prepare manuscripts for submission… when typewriters were manual devices and you used carbon paper if you wanted a copy. Yeah, back before there was a photocopier in every home and even before the post offices [and later libraries] installed them for public use at 25 cents per page.
    I still have no idea HOW word processing works… but as long as I can utilize it to my advantage, I guess I don’t really care.
    But back to snacks: when I was drafting my column for Hound Day, my brain went blank and I could only remember a few of the snacks I enjoy frequently… or (before my gluten embargo) “used to” enjoy. I guess I’ll remember all that stuff next week when we have a diff. topic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t it always the way…go blank and them think of something when it is too late!
      With as lousy a typist that I am,(never took a class), I know that I probably would never have had anything of any length published if I had to do ‘real’ typing. It was bad enough to try to get lyrics or poems out on a ‘clean’ page.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. When I get really into my writing I don’t snack either. I will keep a bottle of water or juice nearby so I’m not getting up.
    My kids like flavored water but I don’t like it flavored.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joselyn says:

    My handwriting isn’t too bad and I find I’m more forgiving of errors in my handwriting than in typing. I have to go back and correct it when I type, so that slows me down. Handwriting seems to help the writing flow a little more smoothly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment