No Space for Me

I have always yearned for wide open spaces. Craved to be away from buildings, neighbors, cars, and all the noise that comes with all of that. However, I have never wanted to travel in outer space. You can’t even get me on an airplane!

There is just too much that can go wrong. Maybe when I was a kid I may have thought it would be interesting to go to Mars but then my oldest brother had me watch Total Recall with him. That sceneim the movie where the air generator was turned off freaked me out. Seeing everyone there struggle to breath and slowly die made me realize that I never want to travel to space. I wouldn’t want to have to rely on machines to provide a proper atmosphere for me to live in. Machines break, not only that but what if someone decided that he/she no longer wanted to live and was going to take everyone out with them. All they had to do was break the generator.

It’s all too vast. There’s nothing there, just endless space. No thank you. I’d rather keep my feet on the ground and gaze up at the stars instead of visiting them.

I’ll explore space through movies and books.

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Space for Me

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Hmmm. Interestingly, it was just Mon. afternoon that I watched a sizeable chunk of that film, Total Recall. Including the very scene you cited — when the villain switched off the ventilation system in Sector G (or wherever the good guys were).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My thoughts exactly, Angie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    If things are great here, why would we want to go anywhere else, right? But I guess that means we need to take care of what we have.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Joselyn says:

    Good point about needing to rely on an artificial life support. Seems too dangerous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment