Review: No Angels for Christmas

no angels for xmas

BLURB:

No Angels for Christmas . . . a cozy romantic mystery with suspense from The Mystery Angel Romances series. An angel hidden in every book waiting for you to figure who . . .

Child psychologist Rachel Kelly isn’t quite sure how to handle the situation with her newest client — a six-year-old boy who says he can talk to angels and one is coming to help Rachel. She already has her hands full of trouble this Christmas season, and things quickly take a turn for the worse when a stalker crashes Rachel’s Christmas party and takes her young clients hostage.

Police negotiator, Lt. Jake Dillon, walked away from his fiancée Rachel when she suddenly balked at having kids. His kids. Yet when the hostage crisis erupts, Rachel calls Jake first. Now he has a choice to make — stand back and wait for the cavalry to save Rachel or step in and try to save her himself. Time is running out, and Jake may be their only chance for rescue.

Unless Rachel’s little angel-spying client is telling the truth…

 

My Review:

The character development in the story was excellent, and I liked the plot. I also liked that it wasn’t a romance with open door sex. The book seemed well written, and I didn’t find lots of typos and errors. There’s an angel in the book, but I didn’t guess who it was. The only problem I had with the story is that I don’t like to read about child abuse. I know it exists. I saw it when I was a teacher, but it made the book so intense that I had to take breaks from it from time to time. Other readers won’t feel that way so I don’t mean it as a criticism, just a caution for those of us who like our reading a little lighter. On a scale of 1 to 5 I’d give it a 4.

About Elaine Cantrell

Elaine Cantrell was born and raised in South Carolina. She has a Master’s Degree in Personnel Services from Clemson University and is a member of Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary sorority for women educators. She is also a member of Romance Writers of America. Her first novel A New Leaf was the 2003 winner of the Timeless Love Contest and was published in 2004 by Oak Tree Press. When she isn't writing you can find Elaine playing with her dog or maybe collecting more vintage Christmas ornaments
This entry was posted in book review, Elaine Cantrell, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: No Angels for Christmas

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Mystery Angels sound like an interesting idea for a series. No Angels for Christmas seems like something I’d enjoy reading, but I appreciate the warning about the subject matter. I need to be in a certain frame of mind to deal with the grittier issues, especially when I’m embroiled in one in my WIP. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff Salter says:

    The plot / storyline sounds terrific and I think I’d enjoy trying to figure out which character was the angel. But, as Patricia noted, I don’t like reading references to the abuse of children. So, for me, the context of this plot might need to be shifted… in order for me to enjoy the story.

    Like

  3. Someone gave a book to me that he had put his heart and soul into, but it is ALL about abuse of children.I guess how the cops and the older children get out of it is the main bulk of the story, but I can’t get there, as hard as I tried, and I barely got into the pages at all; it will go unread.
    I am interested in angels, though and have a WIP with them, so I would be curious about their handling in this one.

    Like

Leave a comment