Night and Day

This week’s question. : Are you an early bird or a night owl?

I have been both in my life.

When I was a little kid, early was good for me; early to be, early to rise.
As I got a bit older, I found that staying up was great…when I could do it.

In my late teens and early 20s, staying up late to do a great deal of reading was good for me, even if the mornings were a little harder.

After that, well, work made staying up difficult; I read at lunch.

When I got married, early mornings were the norm, then the babies came I short order and you can probably understand what happened then. I went into both night owling and early birding.

When the boys got past baby-stage, I could stay up a bit longer to read; I wasn’t writing except in my head.

Then life changed and with the way it, jobs and the family were going, I had to do both up late and up early.

I learned to go on about 3 hours sleep a night (morning), usually between 12-3 or 1-4 AM with
Husband working nights, me working cook/baker hours…and teenagers in the house.

Still, I wrote at lunch.

The short-sleep went on until a couple of years ago, even after my working outside of the home stopped. Until recently, The Husband was again on night-shifts and there were people in the family (or had joined the family) who were troubled or in need of care… and there were babies and kids who needed me again.

Now, I should be able to do the early-to-bed, early-to rise-thing again, which would put me back into a productive mode, and I have tried to get there, really I have,
but The Husband is not making an effort to get off of ‘second-shift mode’. Getting to bed early is not easy for me and getting up early is leaving me blurry-eyed and dragging. I can steal reading time, but it’s been hard to write.

I can’t blame just less sleep, I am free to get more, since I should be able to nap, but I never feel better afterward. I have to admit that health concerns are leaving me dragging as well.

My get-up-and-go got-up-and-went.

Do I do better at night, or early morning?

Yes.

Either.

Or Neither.

I’m working on it.

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in author's life, big plans, careers, Daily life, decisions, experiences, Family, goals, imagination, Life, lifestyles, reading, Tonette Joyce, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Night and Day

  1. Jeff Salter says:

    Sounds like a lot of external circumstances at work… not to mention health issues.
    Hope you’re able to get back into a groove of one kind or another, when you’ll have more time for yourself, and part of that being restorative rest.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope you can get back to writing. It’s hard when a nap doesn’t seem to refreshen you at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, but I have been.I HAD to start writing a story based on actual events in my extended family.I realized it woulld make a great, um, ‘fiction’ story. I have a lot of it done. I just wish that I could have the time and energy to finish the long stories.

      Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    It’s tough to get ANYTHING done when you’re dealing with health issues. Hope things calm down for you soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elaine Cantrell says:

    My get up and go got up and went too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment