An Oldie But a Goodie.

Mrs. Wiggs of the Cabbage Patch by Alice Hegan Rice was originally published in the early years of the 20th century in 1902. There was even a movie based on the book. My sister found the book much, much later in a dime store if you remember what that was. She read the Whitman edition published in 1962. The cover I’ve used is the original 1962 version. She and I were both big readers so when she finished it I read it. It was fantastic.

Mrs. Wiggs had come to the city looking for work when her husband died leaving her with five Children to raise. Work was hard to come by. They lived in small house that faced a railroad. Food was fairly scarce so the older son, Jim, found what work he could to help the family. The story begins at Christmas time when we find out Jim had to sell his overcoat to cover the rent. He has what sounds like pneumonia. From that point everything just gets worse for the family. Jim’s death is the catalyst that changes life for the Wiggs family. The family comes to the attention of a rich lady who takes them under her wing and alerts others to their plight. Things do get better for them, but Mrs. Wiggs never can forget Jim. The boy’s death scene was as touching a one as I’ve ever read.

As I said, things were much better after the rich woman helped them. She became a very important person in the Cabbage Patch who was ofter called on for advice. Inadvertently the family assisted her in her romance.

I won’t tell you anything more, but I truly thought it a very nice find. The book is billed as children’s literature, but I don’t think young children could understand it very well. Everything would be fine from say fourth grade up to adult level. The book is filled with optimism, and Mrs. Wiggs was a great role model. She loved her children and did her very best to help them prosper.

You can get the kindle edition for free at Amazon.

Did you ever read the book? You could read it in one sitting if you wanted to. It’s free so why not?

About Elaine Cantrell

Elaine Cantrell was born and raised in South Carolina. She has a Master’s Degree in Personnel Services from Clemson University and is a member of Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary sorority for women educators. She is also a member of Romance Writers of America. Her first novel A New Leaf was the 2003 winner of the Timeless Love Contest and was published in 2004 by Oak Tree Press. When she isn't writing you can find Elaine playing with her dog or maybe collecting more vintage Christmas ornaments
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Oldie But a Goodie.

  1. My third grade teacher read this in installments to us after lunch. She really played the lead-up to Jim’s death and read it
    I remember a lot about this book even after all these years, as their situation horrified me.
    I never had an inclination to see the movie, mostly because they used it as a vehicle for W.C. Fields and I have no idea how his mugging wiould fit in the story.
    I wonder if I should look into the book now. I will consider it.

    Like

    • Elaine Cantrell says:

      The situation horrified me too. I’m sure there were people like the Wiggs in every little town, but I didn’t know anyone in such a desperate struggle to live. Since I started teaching I saw this more times that I cared for. I just hope the people I taught made a success of their lives.

      Like

  2. Jeff Salter says:

    I don’t recall this title, or that character… but the theme seems quite familiar. I read the first book of the Boxcar Kids series and it had a similar theme: the plight of orphaned kids who have to work and sacrifice… and display maturity well beyond their typical years.

    Like

    • Elaine Cantrell says:

      I’ve never read The Boxcar Kids, but now that you’ve told me about it I might just look it up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jeff Salter says:

        I enjoyed it. But be aware that the original text has been heavily revised. I wanted to read the original, so I made sure my copy was the earlier version.
        I forget exactly what “they” changed, but they did some “softening” of the hardships, as I recall.

        Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I hadn’t heard of this book! I imagine it would be difficult to read, especially Jim’s death.

    Like

Leave a comment