On the Road

Sorry for missing my blog on trains last week. I’ve never been on one, but when it comes to cars, it feels as though most of my life has been spent in them.

Growing up, my family owned a trucking company. My mom used to do hotshot services all across the Gulf Coast and some of those trips meant the kids went with her. I was too young at the time, but my sister had the unfortunate honor of being with mom when she slid down a hill in Alabama. In the middle of the night. In a very remote area (cause that’s where the oil rigs were). Yeah, my sister doesn’t like to drive.

Me on the other hand? I used to love riding in the car. By the time Mom got out of the hotshot industry, she’d married my stepdad who used to drive a big rig. I was old enough by then to go on trips with him. Maybe that’s where I get my love of exploring via car, but when I got my license, I’d hop in the car and drive all over the place. Most of the time it was just in my area, but as I got older and more confident, I’d take longer and longer road trips.

In college, I had this mini-van I sort of inherited from my parents. It should have been the death knell of my social life, but the great thing about mini-vans is they can fit a lot of people. When my friends would go anywhere, I was the one behind the wheel with all of them piled in the back. One particular trip to Gulfport turned into a foray into Bayou Labatre where we only had time to get gas before we had to get back to Gulfport.

To this day, when my family and I go anywhere, I have to drive. As much as I love my family, I don’t like anyone’s driving but my own. My sister has no problem with that since she has this phobia of bridges that prevents her from driving across them (big bridges mind you. If she was afraid of small bayou bridges, she’d never be able to leave her house.) Road trips are a blast. The further away the better. I don’t use GPS either. My motto is: There’s no such thing as getting lost. If you don’t know where you are, just turn around and go back the way you came.

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!
This entry was posted in childhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the Road

  1. jeff7salter says:

    “if you don’t know where you are, just turn around and go back the way you came”
    I’ve done that a few times.
    I’ve also traveled by what I called general navigation. When I and two buddies wanted to go to Dallas to meet three girls we’d corresponded with, I figured to just drive west. That worked okay until I realized I was heading for San Antonio instead of Dallas. Had to factor some NORTH into my Westerly path.

    Like

  2. tonettejoyce says:

    I put off learning to drive until I was 21, but I never feared driving.I didn’t go long strtches for a while but I did like to get on RTS 95 or 66 and get out of town.
    When I was 27, we moved from No.VA to SE Idaho.It was an emotional trip for me and I was losing it sitting in the passenger seat.The family decided I should drive one of the vehicles, so I crossed country with a new brother-in-law in the front seat, two guiena pigs, a cocateil and a gradenia in the back seat.I fell in love with long-haul driving.It was nothing for me to drive when we moved from Denver here to the middle of Kentucky.
    Yes, Jeff, I ,too, love Danica’s last line! It’s a keeper, Danica!

    Like

  3. yep. It’s hard to be on the bayou and be afraid of bridges. Glad your sis is not trapped at home! and you need to go roder again and show us some more of the countryside!

    Like

Leave a comment