This week we are asked to describe our dream house.

When I was a kid, I actually drew plans for my dream house. As I recall, it consisted of a lot of bedrooms and bathrooms,(I never had my own room and we always fought over one bathroom), and it had STORAGE.

I was always insecure and wanted to keep everything. In that dream house, I had rooms of cabinets and even deep containers built into the middle of the room where things could be placed and found.

Finding things is still a problem in my house.

Now I don’t feel the need to keep everything. And although I would like a bigger house with room for everyone and everything, I am seriously considering downsizing.

But we are talking dream homes. OK, here goes:

I want a really good kitchen. I have suffered through having a really small one with a really small oven for 23 years and it’s been a real trial for me. I want multiple ovens, two big refrigerators and a large, built-in dishwasher. I did not want to sacrifice cabinet space to have one put in when I moved into my present house, but the portable ones we’ve bought have tied-up the kitchen at least once a day for an hour and it is really annoying. I should have sacrificed the cabinets, though, since they were put in badly and have blind corners that are really hard to reach. I just had The Grandson pull most of what was in the bottom ones out so I could take stock; you would not believe how much old stuff I found in the ‘dead end’ corners of the upper ones. So, I want easy-access cabinets, too, with shelves that glide out easily. It needs to have a large table and open up into a ‘family room’, and probably a screened-in patio.

I’d like a big bedroom with a sitting/study area. I am also spoiled with en suite bathrooms, but I also want one with a big bathtub. I have hardly used the one I now have; it’s small and annoying.

I’d like a few spare rooms for family and friends, with sufficient baths as well, perhaps on the opposite side of the house from mine. I want some privacy and I don’t want to hear them getting up, conversing, listening to media, etc., as I have to now.

Plus, I want many closets! We have pathetic closet space here. When the realtor who bought my townhouse listed what he expected me to leave, (fridge, stove, etc.), he listed the walk-in closet in my bedroom(!) and I often mutter under my breath that I should have tried to bring it with me.

I’d like my library back. Yes, I had one in what was built as a den here. In fact, we had it as a classroom when I homeschooled, but since no one in Kentucky would sit on my daybed, when someone offered me a sofa bed I jumped at it and put the daybed in the library, which meant that I needed to move some of the bookshelves into the living room. I’ve regretted that, too. I suppose I want an office off of the library, but somewhere that is quiet with a view .

I guess it comes as no surprise to anyone that all of we Foxes and the Hound want to include a library in our dream homes.

I’d like a music room, (since the piano ended up in the ‘library’ as well), I’d like a game room, a craft/sewing room and probably a small theater, since we enjoy our movies. I almost never go to the theater anymore.(Not since the last Harry Potter movie. I even skipped going out to see the last of the “Pirates of the Caribbean”.)

And I’d like all of this on one floor, with a nice yard with flowers and trees, gardener included. (My mother once pointed out a very nice, very big house. I said, “I’d hate to have to clean it.” Mom answered, “If you can afford a house like that, you can afford help”. )

I want this in a place that is temperate, (five months of Spring, five of Autumn, one of Winter, one of Summer would be great), and I want a nice view, preferably on or near water.

Hey, you asked for my DREAM home, didn’t you?

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in big plans, Daily life, Family, hobbies, Lists, Miscellaneous, Tonette Joyce, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Okay, the thing that caught my attention as I read this was the silly realtor who wanted you to leave the walk-in closet. I’d like to know how he thought you were going to take it with you. A music room would have been nice back when my kids were both in band, both taking piano lessons, and I was giving music lessons. But now, the piano in the living room (which doubles as a large closet) is rather lonely, except when the grandkids come.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t have any idea what the realtor was thinking, Patty. It has become a family joke. Actually, I told my brother when I read the contract and he told me to superglue the closet door shut!

      Like

  2. Joselyn says:

    The walk in closet comment made me laugh too. How would you take that with you? I agree they are a necessity. For an old house, we have many good closets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I lived in a 1910 house that had very few closets. I guess they used wardrobes.
      I don;t know how I would have taken a closet, especially since it was a townhouse and the neighbor would have been left with a gaping hole in her place! LOL! See what i told Patty about my brother.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jeff7salter says:

    yes, we love our books and want them to be visible and accessible on shelves.
    And we need quiet space away from whoever else may be in the house at the time!
    Love your idea of limiting winter to one month and summer the same. Five months of Spring and five months of Autumn would be delightful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can become very happy with little favors God throws my way, but when I dream, I dream BIG! When we were first married, (in Colorado), I asked Joe if there was anywhere in the world where it didn’t get too much colder than 50 and to much warmer than mid-80s. He caught where I was going and said, “The Riviera”. I said , “And the likelihood of us ever living on the Riviera is…?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment