Guest Author: LoRee Peery

Bio

Nebraska country girl LoRee Peery writes fiction that hopefully appeals to adult readers who enjoy stories written from a Christian perspective, focusing on the romance. These include novels and novellas for women and men in the Contemporary, Romance, Historical, Time Travel, and Mystery/Suspense categories. She writes of redeeming grace with a sense of place. Her Frivolities Series and the book based on her father’s unsolved homicide, Touches of Time, are available on Amazon. She is who she is by the grace of God: Christian, country girl, wife, mother, grandmother and great-, sister, friend, and author. Connect with LoRee: www.loreepeery.com

https://www.facebook.com/LoReePeery

Find her publications at Pelican http://tinyurl.com/kwz9enk

And Amazon https://www.amazon.com/LoRee-Peery/e/B004UAGL2W/ref

Courting Country blub

Taggart Bauman has secretly loved Kylie Gordon since they were young, but she married his best friend. When Kylie is widowed, Taggart promises to take care of her. And even though he could be free to profess his love, he chooses to keep his feelings a secret. If Kylie knew that he’d failed to save her husband, she’d never forgive him. He knows, because he can’t forgive himself.
After being alone for so long, Kylie believes an online dating service is her last chance at finding love. But she continually finds herself in “situationships” that require Taggart to rescue her. When at last she reconnects with Eldon Wenz, an old friend from their college years, she thinks perhaps this is finally her second chance at love…but just in case, she asks Taggart to accompany her when she travels to Eldon’s ranch.
But sometimes things are not what they seem, and when one more situationship crops up, Taggart vents his resentment and tells Kylie she needs to work out the choices she’s making.
Will Taggart lose Kylie forever, friendship and all, or will Kylie realize that what she’s been searching for has been right in front of her the whole time?

Link https://www.amazon.com/Courting-Country-LoRee-Peery-ebook/dp/B08HR2HJCG/ref

Shelter in the Night

I’ve found myself in what I call my waiting place quite often through my adult years. The conclusion I’ve reached is that what touches my life is according to God’s time, and I’m not meant to ask why. So for whatever reason, to build character, patience, or perseverance, that waiting period happened again between May and October of 2020.

Pain struck on Mother’s Day. I had applied eye makeup for the first time since the Covid-19 lockdown that began in March. I lowered my arm and the pain took me to my knees. I’m used to something always hurting due to fibromyalgia and osteoarthritis, and I have a high pain tolerance. If I’m nauseated I know the pain is nasty, and such a sudden stabbing was eight on the pain chart, which made me sick to my stomach all that day.

A few days later, an X-ray revealed a broken acromion bone. That’s the thin one at the top of the shoulder that curves on the end. A CT scan told the surgeon his earlier rotator cuff repair hadn’t worked. I needed a reverse shoulder replacement.

Long, painful, and weak months ensued. The broken bone didn’t heal, the screws were floating. I needed a second surgery to remove hardware, along with a bone graft.

During the months of pain I was up in the wee hours of many sleepless nights. I hope the psalms of lamentation and praise I penned will result in a nonfiction book. I dug into the Bible and poured out my frustration and praise through what I called LoRee’s psalms, all with adoration for the Lord God who calls me daughter. Ever trusting, though my frailty drifted to the surface often, my Lord had control and all would be well.

He’s never disappointed.

I have strict instructions to keep my shoulder immobile for six weeks, as though my elbow is glued to my side. I’ve become rather proficient with my left hand, though I hunt and peck at the keyboard.

All that to say I am still writing. I can’t not write, and penned a praise psalm eight hours post-surgery. I can’t help but wonder if writing is an addiction, a compulsion, an obsession? I’ll think on what I just said because I don’t ever want my writing viewed in a negative light.

Thank you, Angela, your fellow foxes, and Mr. Hound for allowing me to visit today.

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Guest Author: LoRee Peery

  1. LoRee Peery says:

    Ii am pleased to be a guest today. Thanks again, Angela.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff Salter says:

    welcome to 4F1H. We’ve recently become FB friends but I’d forgotten how we even bumped into each other. Must’ve been through Angie.
    Reading your account of that shoulder hit me hard. I cannot imagine that much agony, and all the re-do’s by the medical people who’d failed you in their previous attempts.
    May God bless and heal you.

    Like

    • LoRee Peery says:

      Thanks for your kind words, Jeff. Since your Cowboy titles sounded like my recent time travel releases, I read a couple and then connected on Facebook. I got a card from my sis who said she hopes this was the last surgery of my life (I had 7 in 4 yrs).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jeff Salter says:

        Having to deal not only with the pain, but all the adjustments (lack of movement, getting dressed, making meals, etc) must be nearly impossible.

        Like

  3. Elaine Cantrell says:

    Welcome to the blog. Your work sounds fabulous.

    Like

  4. Perhaps writing is a talent to help reach, heal, and teach others. So really your drive to write is a blessing. Thank you for coming to our blog today.

    Like

  5. LoRee Peery says:

    Angela, I appreciate your encouragement.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry that I was gone all day yesterday, LoRee and was not here to welcome you.
    God has HIs ways, and we will understand them only when we leave here,and I suspect we will be doing a great deal of the equivalent of spiritual head-smacking when we do, because it will all probably be obvious to us then.
    I am no stranger to pain and surgery…and the compulsion to write.
    I will definitely keep you in prayer.

    Like

    • LoRee Peery says:

      Tonette, I was gone yesterday. A visit to the surgeon’s–X-ray showed the bone graft is good and I’m healing. But I later got a cramp in my leg that kept me from coming upstairs to my study. I have learned to not become anxious over tasks that wait for me, hard for a type-A personality. Thank you for prayers.

      Like

  7. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Sorry to chime in late! Welcome, and thank you so much for sharing your true-life story, as well as the ones you write. Prayers for your complete healing and end to the pain.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. pamelasthibodeaux says:

    What a wonderful post and such interesting books!
    Good luck and God’s blessings
    PamT

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Karen says:

    LoRee, The book sounds wonderful. I’m sorry you’ve had to deal with such pain, but it is beautiful God is using it in your life to write your own Psalms. What a blessing to know He is with us in difficult circumstances.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment