What’s Your Opinion on AI?

Most people in this country know what AI is, but if you don’t know here’s a simple definition. AI provides a computer program the ability to think and learn on its own. It’s getting machines to do things that humans normally do. So, is AI a good thing or a bad thing. Let’s look at a few examples.

Medicine might benefit by AI. Doctors might make a mistake, but AI can do operations with better precision. AI might do repetitive chores in say a factory. We already use AI in many ways and don’t know it.For example Google Maps or Siri.

Sound like a good idea, right? Well, I don’t know. An AI robot might replace jobs that people need to survive. AI might be applied to education, but after seeing students learned during the pandemic I definitely think the kids are better off with a teacher in the room.

For a writer or artist, though, we worry that AI might replace traditionally written books and painting. It could really happen, but I’m not much worried about it. AI can only use data programmed into it. It’s doubtful that it could ever rival the creativity of a real person. I don’t think any machine could ever replicate human emotion.

What about you? Can you list the ways you already use AI?

For more information you can go to Advantages and Disabilities of AI at https://www.simplilearn.com/advantages-and-disadvantages-of-artificial-intelligence-article That’s a simple explanation of What AI is or isn’t.

About Elaine Cantrell

Elaine Cantrell was born and raised in South Carolina. She has a Master’s Degree in Personnel Services from Clemson University and is a member of Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary sorority for women educators. She is also a member of Romance Writers of America. Her first novel A New Leaf was the 2003 winner of the Timeless Love Contest and was published in 2004 by Oak Tree Press. When she isn't writing you can find Elaine playing with her dog or maybe collecting more vintage Christmas ornaments
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s Your Opinion on AI?

  1. I have a real problem with AI in medicine: I have had too many run-ins with medical personnel who only know what they were taught or have read in books. They don’t take individual personal chemistry into consideration, look for extenuating cirucmstances, and they discount the small percentage possibilities of adverse or unusual effects or symptoms. I call them “trained medical monkeys”; there are far too many of them these days, and too few people of science.
    I just recently had three dental professionals insist that I was grinding my teeth. When a bright young woman dentist came in and I made it clear that I was not capable of grinding,( I never caught myself, my husband never heard me do such a thing, Plus, if they really looked at my jaw they would see that it would not allow it), she asked about other health issues of mine and made a good call, but it happens to me all the time.
    My physician knows how I feel by looking at how I move. She can tell as soon as she walks in and I look up. How can a robo doc do that? THAT is what frieghtens me.

    Yes, AI can only puit out what is put in. It’s the programmers that scare me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff Salter says:

    I’ll touch on this more tomorrow, on Hound Day, but let me say something here in reaction to your comment: “doubtful that it could ever rival the creativity of a real person.”

    I agree with you — or, at least, I WANT to agree — but I also worry about what I call the “lowered standards” of the audiences for that creativity. By that I mean [my opinion]:
    * many contemporary viewers of (what passes for) TV sit-coms are evidently entertained by derivative, hackneyed, drivel… with annoying laugh tracks. I doubt they’d notice if those scripts were crafted by machines or trained monkeys.
    * many contemporary listeners to (what passes for) “music” these days are evidently entertained by computer generated riffs, “improved” vocal tracks, unimaginative & repetitive “lyrics”, and other garbage. If their tastes are sufficiently lowered that they purchase and listen to such drivel, I doubt they’d notice when computers / A.I. just crank out the entire album from beginning to end.
    Etc Etc.
    Does that sound too negative of me?
    Well, I’m afraid — with a few notable exceptions — I don’t “appreciate” contemporary television programming, contemporary “music”, or today’s cultural “influencers.”
    There, I said it.
    Now, get off my lawn!

    Like

    • Elaine Cantrell says:

      Love the trained monkey’s comment. I don’t appreciate a lot of things about AI, but I really don’t worry too much about the fate of authors. There will always be a need for talented people who can give us something from the heart, which AI can’t.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment