Once upon a Star

“I’m not defined by what people think of me. My happiness comes from within.”
―     Jill Shalvis, It Had to Be You    

I only found out the other day that Jeff (our Thursday Hound) is a big Fan of James Bond, so I won’t mention today, that’ I’d love to hang out with Bond, James Bond or either of the actors playing him.

So which movie star would I like to hang out with – the theme of this week.

When I thought about the topic for this week, I have to admit, I arrogantly thought, that there really isn’t an actor interesting enough that I would want to spend some time with them, after all, I KNOW what’s on telly (or movies) is not what they’re in real life.
However, arrogance aside, if I had the choice, well, names like Dawn French or Billy Connolly come to mind, or Bette Middler, Armin Mueller Stahl. I wouldn’t mind a close encounter with Arrow-star Stephen Amell or Johnny Depp. I mean, hellloooo, I’m only human.

So, because I haven’t really got that aspiration, I thought I’d tell you about the day, when I did meet a “star”. Years and years ago I worked for the German TV station ZDF. I worked as a secretary in the Department for Light Entertainment/Series – I really enjoyed my time there. Great colleagues, great boss, interesting work. Anyway, as you can imagine, we had a few “German stars” coming and going and as I said above, there’s the actor and there’s the “real” person – most of the time “big difference”.
One day we had Pierre Brice coming to the office. Big star in the sixties and seventies in Germany (possibly in Europe, but I honestly wouldn’t know) with the movies of “Winnetou”.  Written by Karl May, Winnetou is a fictional Native AmericaWinnetoun hero of a few novels, and the movies were big back then!
So this actor had a meeting with the boss, and honestly with all the stars I had seen or met (including Princess Diana) it was just an awesome atmosphere in this small office when he stepped in. Star struck, we all just stood and gazed, until he said his “Guten Tag” with his French accent. He would have been in his sixties, but still had the aura of a star. That was truly a day to remember and I’m glad I had the chance to “hang out” with Pierre Brice even though just for a brief moment!

I wonder whether we will have something like singers or sports stars as a theme sometime … now I could count a few people I’d like to hang out with from that group!

What about you? Got a major movie Star you’d like to hang out with?

About Iris B

Iris Blobel writes warm, sexy, and sometimes witty Australian Contemporary Romance books for readers who, like herself, still strongly believe in love and Happily Ever Afters. And she knows HEAs. Her couples are hungry for life, done with the past, passionate about family, and emotionally hopeful for a future. The stories are mainly set in Australia but also in New Zealand and even the US, depending on where her travels take her. She loves nothing more than for her readers to join her on her journeys.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Once upon a Star

  1. pjharjo says:

    Great Blog! I enjoyed reading about your brushes with “stars.” :))

    Janette
    Romance through the mists of time,
    Love through the dimensions of reality

    Watch for the CONNECTIONS Trilogy, coming soon
    from Books To Go Now!

    http://www.bookstogonow.com

    http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Sharmishtha says:

    we all have our coveted lists, don’t we? 🙂

    Like

  3. Fascinating! I learn so much reading your posts. I can’t think of any stars I’ve met. If I were to choose a star to “hang out” with, I think my first choice would be the late Jimmy Stewart. He always struck me as a friendly, approachable, intelligent man. Broadcaster Hugh Downs strikes me the same way. Both men remind me a lot of my dad – so I guess I’m drawn to the father figures!

    Like

  4. OOOOH, Iris,I don’t know this man but just looking at the picture …helllo! I sure would like to!
    I’ll have too give thought to my Friday post, but I have the Topic List ready for September and October and you’ll be pleased to know that September will be James Bond Month.Get ready!

    Like

    • Iris B says:

      A whole month ??? Holy moly, that’ll be a JB Festival … CANT WAIT !!!!
      Yes, I’m sure there were many posters in girls’ rooms around Germany with Pierre on them 😉

      Like

      • All I had to do was hear that .Salter,Jeff Salter, was a Bond fan and that everyone else seemed to jump,he asked me to work it in and I went wild!(I liked the theme months we’ve had before.)…(I may get one of those Pierre posters!)

        Like

      • Iris B says:

        LOL re the poster, Tonette. But trust me, when I met him, he must’ve been in his sixties and he still looked great! Much be that French gene running through his venes 😉
        Yup … JB month, let’s get the party going 🙂

        Like

      • The list should be in your email now, Iris…and as for Pierre, be still my heart! I LOVE and older man…always have!

        Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    Dawn French, if she’s the one from Ab Fab, would definitely make an interesting encounter. So creative and funny.
    Now that I know we have so many Bond fans here at 4F1H, I’ll have to save up my Bond-isms for September.

    Like

  6. jeff7salter says:

    that sounds like a memorable encounter with Pierre Brice.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Touched by a TV Star | fourfoxesonehound

Leave a comment