Machines That Give Up the Ghost, or, Rather…

We are discussing things that refuse to work properly.
Story of my life!
I talked about cars that were problems in the comments to Joselyn on Tuesday and to Jeff on Thursday, a sewing machine that never liked me in Patty’s post on Monday; I talked about the TVs I grew up with that my father used to barely keep ‘alive’ in a comment to Angie on Wednesday.
I recently talked on our day about being ‘snookered’ concerning a computer. The first two (of the same model), were such lemons, they sent a third.(I spent, from my estimations, over 30 hours on the phone with Dell over the PCs. When they asked me how long I thought I had spent before they sent the last one, I said, “On hold and everything? I’d estimate 28 hours.” The man said he’d send a new one; I assume it was even longer than 28 hours.)

In fact, one night I was on for so long that I made friends the bright, young Indian fellow who was trying to help me. He was very polite and did nothing to encourage me, but with having to wait for long stretches, I asked him about where he lived, etc. (The sun was going down where I was; it was coming up in Mumbai.) I told him that I didn’t want to get him into trouble, but to hang on to my email address and email us when he no longer worked for Dell. I heard from him about 5 months later.

He calls, we email and SKYPE with the families; the grandkids love the idea of talking around the world to him, or actually, they like that his dog will listen to them from so far away. We get into 3-way conversations with my husband on religion,(his family has been Christian since St. Thomas the Apostle landed in India).I am friends with his mother. I’ve given him advice on his love life. We have been in touch for over 10 years now.

But here’s a story that is a bit …different. After I closed my business and had given up on restarting, I had been somewhat ill, so I had not been working Someone I knew offered for me to go to work for her. She needed someone she trusted to be her ‘right hand’. A single-mom of a 13 year old boy, she was a doctor with a heavy work schedule. Her son no longer needed a babysitter, but it was nice to have someone around when he needed something, and someone he, also, trusted.(He was in my son’s Boy Scout troop, a few years younger than they were). She had almost finished renovating the large, very old house she had purchased in town. She needed a personal assistant. I did everything from party planning to personal cheffing , dusting to dealing with deliveries, laborers…and laundry.

She had warned me about her washer, which was located in her basement; it often, inexplicably, quit at the middle spin. She had the timer switched out twice and even switched out the entire washer for another, of another brand. But it kept happening, and did it when I, also, used the washer.

Not every time, but more often than not.

Yes, I do believe some supernatural things were going on in that house. [I have other stories.] Against most spiritual advice, after some time I did speak out and asked whatever was pulling the prank to please stop, that I didn’t think they meant me any harm, but it was hard on me to run up and down the stairs all the time.

It never stopped before the end of the entire cycle again.

No one has any other explanation.

Even with all that went on there, I hated to leave. I cut back on my hours as most of the work on her house was done and her big celebrations had been executed. I still went in part time while I had another job, but I became quite ill and stopped working outside of the home altogether.

She never talks about what goes on when I see her. Except for when I went into discuss the job and she said, (twice), “The poltergeist, or whatever I have, shuts off the washer mid-cycle”, and explained about the repairs and change of washer, we have never discussed all that seems to go on there. I think things happen to her, but since she lives there, I let it go.

If you have a mechanical, of-this-world theory, however, I’m open to hear it; otherwise…

the ghosts gave up the machine.

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in careers, Friendship, horror stories, Life, Tonette Joyce, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Machines That Give Up the Ghost, or, Rather…

  1. jeff7salter says:

    cool story about the haunted washing machine. That would’ve given me the willies, I think, to remain in that house… especially at night and alone.
    As far as the actual diagnosis of that washing machine problem, however, I’m pretty sure I have the answer — “vapor lock”.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’d buy that, if BOTH of the washers had not been checked more than once by more than one repairman. Both washers, different brands.
      I don’t have a good enough imagination to come up with other experiences that happened there,Jeff. I was told that there was a cabin that had been on the property that had been labeled one of the most haunted places in KY.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Wow. I’d be afraid to stay in the haunted washer’s house too, especially after problems stopped when you gave it a good talking to. I love the story about the Mumbai tech support guy. It’s interesting who we manage to make connections with, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joselyn says:

    Great story about keeping up the tech support guy. I wonder how often things like that happen.

    The haunted washer is pretty creepy. I would be suspicious of anything it washed. I wouldn’t want my underwear to go dancing around. 🙂 Our current washing machine likes to add water during the final spin. I’m hoping this is a problem with the timer and not a supernatural occurrence.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I hate to keep harping on this, but the timer was switched out TWICE and another washer put in its place…same problem, same time. My last two washers also put water in during the final rinse. From what I have been told, it is to make sure all the suds are gone! How dumb are people who need this? It makes liquid fabric softener not worth putting in.
      As for tech personnel, most companies have very strict non-fraternizing rules of conduct, which is why I took a chance and told him to contact us AFTER he left Dell.In fact, many companies make their people give fake names; some often use the same name to think you are dealing with the same person each time.Many overseas companies make their people use more “Western” names.In fact, this particular fellow was supposed to call himself “Dennis”, when in fact, his name is, as he put it, Denzel, as in Denzel Washington”.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Joselyn says:

        I’ve heard about them changing their names to make it sound like they are in the US, but the accents are usually so obvious.

        When my sewing machine was “haunted”, the problem ended up being with the extension cord. Unfortunately, I didn’t figure it out until the motor and gears were ruined.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. How wonderful it is that you and the tech guy were able to become friends. It sounds like your entire family connected with him.

    The washing machine would have bothered me. I wouldn’t have stayed there longer not with it stopping after your talk.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That place is certainly one for the books Angie.
      Yes, we have made a very nice connection with Denzil and his people.It is wonderful to share slices of life across the world. He messages pictures of his family celebrations. The churches there are very ornate.
      We were comparing the price of things in each country. Their healthcare and cellphone/internet connections are incredibly low.

      Like

Leave a Reply

