Please welcome, J. Q. Rose

 

I’ve known and read J. Q. Rose’s work for several years now. She always manages to surprise me and make me laugh.

Tell us a little about yourself.

After writing feature articles in magazines, newspapers, and online magazines for over fifteen years, I needed a change from Who, What, Where, When and Why of the non-fiction stories and entered the world of fiction. Making up characters and worlds for them to live in consumed me. My published mysteries are Deadly Undertaking and Dangerous Sanctuary released by Books We Love Publishing. But I couldn’t stay away from “real” people because I love telling their stories. So I interviewed fifteen amazing, inspiring role models for my non-fiction book for girls, Girls Succeed! Stories Behind the Careers of Successful Women. When I’m not writing I enjoy photography, Pegs and Jokers board games, and travel. We spend winters in Florida and summers up north camping and hunting toads, frogs, and salamanders with our four grandsons and granddaughter.

What type of books do you write?

I write romantic suspense and non-fiction books.


One of your books takes place in a funeral home. What lead you to set a story there?

200x300-rose-deadlyundertaking-areIn Deadly Undertaking I chose the funeral home setting because I grew up in one. Well, not literally, but my father was a funeral director and so were my two older brothers. You know the adage to “write about what you know”, I know this business, plus I had great resources to tap when I needed to know more about the funeral operation. When the idea of creating the shadow man character, Henry, in the setting of a quirky mystery in a funeral home, I just had to write the story.

Tell us about your latest book. 

rose-dangeroussanctuary-are-200x300Dangerous Sanctuary is a cozy mystery. The main character is a female minister, Pastor Christine Hobbs. She has been in the pulpit business for over five years. She never imagined herself caring for a flock that includes a pig, a kangaroo, and a murderer.

Detective Cole Stephens doesn’t want the pretty pastor to get away with murdering the church music director. His investigative methods infuriate Christine as much as his deep brown eyes attract her.

Can they find the real killer and build a loving relationship based on trust?

This sweet romance with fun characters is an entertaining way to escape the craziness of the holiday season.

How did you come up with the variety of animals in the story?
When I interviewed a female pastor for the Girls Succeed book, she told me about her experience of taking a cat into her home when one of her parishioners died. The pig and kangaroo story is right from the news in Florida when a motorhome actually burned up, but the service animals, pig, kangaroo, and a goat, were rescued. I didn’t include the goat in the story. I figured a pig and kangaroo were plenty for Christine to handle!


Where are your books available?

They are available at amazon. Click here on my amazon page to find all of them. http://tinyurl.com/aeuv4m4

What are you working on now?

I’m switching gears now and working on my memoir about the first year my husband and I were in the flower business—1975-1976. We owned and operated a flower shop, greenhouses, and garden center for twenty years. I’m passionate about folks telling their life stories and have taught workshops on it. So I’ve written small scenes from my life, but never tried to cover a year at a time. A memoir usually is about one area of a person’s life, not the entire chronological experience from birth to present. Viewing my life from the perspective I have now opens up new understanding of the times, the people, and situations I experienced forty years ago.

What do you do in your spare time?
We’re snowbirds, so we escape to sunny Florida for the winter. It’s like going away for summer camp for us. Away from responsibility, but sadly away from family. In the summer we are busy with grandkids, camping, and traveling. In the winter we enjoy playing Pegs and Joker board games and cards with friends as well as taking part in the many activities our park offers.


Anything else you would like to share?

Thank you so much for hosting me. Always a fun time with you at Foxes and Hounds.

Rapid fire:
Spinach or brussel sprouts?
Blech–neither
Scrub the shower or vacuum the rug?
Vacuum the rug.
Five bedrooms or tiny house?
Tiny house—I’m the one who full-timed in our RV for over eight years. I loved the very tiny amount of housekeeping required in a home on wheels.
Favorite kind of chocolate?
Since it’s Christmas time, the Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark squares are always available here! Chocolate covered cherries come in as a close second. But for year round chocolate, I go for m&m’s.

Thank you so much for sharing! dangerous-sanctuary-vbt-graphicJ. Q. Rose would like to give away an ecopy of Dangerous Sanctuary to a lucky commenter. Leave a comment before December 15 at 10 PM EST.

 

About Joselyn

SAHM writing romance with at a case of the giggles. Former librarian. Avid reader. Runner.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Please welcome, J. Q. Rose

  1. J.Q. Rose says:

    Thanks so much for inviting me to be your guest today. The only easy question was whether I’d prefer spinach or brussel sprouts! hee hee Looking forward to answering questions from readers and reading their comments.

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Welcome, J.Q. Rose, to 4F1H.
    Always great to have a fellow M&M lover on board.
    Turns out we have a few similarities: though I had written poetry and stories for years, my early publishing results were with articles in newspapers and magazines and journals. Then two non-fiction books I co-authored with my brother.
    Truly, the demands of N-F are very different from fiction.
    That said, the worlds/communities we create in fiction need to be as true-to-life as though we were describing real people doing actual things in a physical community. Right?

    Liked by 1 person

    • J.Q. Rose says:

      You are so right, Jeff. Odd enough, fiction has to be believable. I hate to admit, during this season I trade in my m&ms for Ghirardelli Peppermint bark. Soooo good. Try that too! Thanks for leaving a comment.

      Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Welcome, JQ! Love your rapid fire choices, except I do like to eat spinach. Dangerous Sanctuary sounds fascinating. I think it would make the perfect reading choice to begin the new year! Good luck with your book tour. Girls Succeed! also sounds like excellent reading.

    Liked by 2 people

    • J.Q. Rose says:

      Hi Patricia. I guess I always think of Pop Eye the Sailor Man eating spinach. hee hee. You have an excellent idea of starting the year off with Dangerous Sanctuary!! Thanks for your good wishes.

      Like

  4. Welcome to Four Foxes One Hound. Deadly Sanctuary sounds like a good read one a cold night like tonight.

    What is your next writing project?

    Liked by 1 person

    • J.Q. Rose says:

      Thank you, Angela. Deadly Sanctuary was so much fun to write. I especially loved the pig and kangaroo scenes. My next project is to re-issue a book published six years ago. Wow/ Six years ago. The story is set in a Retirement Community in Florida. Someone or some thing is killing the seniors on Sunshine Boulevard ruining the winter fun for sure. I am also working on a memoir about the first year we were in the floral and greenhouse business. Remembering all the struggles and victories from this perspective 40 years later has been a joy. Thank you for asking.

      Like

  5. Joselyn says:

    thanks so much for joining us today!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. J.Q. Rose says:

    It was my pleasure, Joselyn.

    Like

  7. JQ, sorry that I was out of town all day and did not welcome you to the blog! I have talked to you on another blog and find the funeral home intriguing. (One local Funeral director is the county coroner.I’d love to know your thoughts on that.)
    I, too, like writing true-life stories.
    You are definitely on my TBR list.

    Like

  8. J.Q. Rose says:

    Hi Tonette, thank you for the welcome. Yes, I know of several places where the local funeral director is the coroner. Kind of fits into the funeral director’s line of work, I’d say. Thank you for adding me to the TBR list!!

    Like

Leave a comment