Tribute to Greatest Generation

By Jeff Salter

We have an ‘open’ week here at 4F1H, so it’s only natural that I’d use Hound Day to talk about my upcoming novel, Called To Arms Again, scheduled for release by May 30.  Of the seven novels I’ve completed so far, this was my third, so it’s quite fitting for it to be my third fiction book published.

C2AA has been through a lot!  I began writing it in fall of 2007 and finished the first readable – though very rough – draft on Apr. 2, 2008.

Partly because this story was so interwoven with my father-in-law (who died the day I finished that initial draft), I was unable to return to this novel for some 14 long months.  Beginning with May 30th of 2009, I resumed work on it and wrote solidly on this story until it had grown to some 164,000 words, which is nearly double the typical length of published fiction.

Sending it to numerous beta readers, I learned that the pace was too slow in the beginning third and several of my plot threads – which related to other books in my Somerset Series – made it difficult for readers to jump in and enjoy the main story.  So, (in December 2012) when I finally found time to get it ready for submission, I knew I had to do a lot more than revise and trim that verbal forest.  I needed to go after it with a chainsaw and then bushhog what remained.  Whacked away some 50,000 words!

The result is a lean, brisk 115,000 word story of a newspaper reporter looking for a new angle for her Veterans Day special section.  Who better to give her a fresh perspective than a bunch of old war dogs who’d been there and back?  Not only does Kelly Randall learn what the Greatest Generation was made of, but she soon discovers a great deal about her own mettle.

My story has action, comedy, romance, and an unashamedly healthy dose of patriotism.  You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll cheer.

I’m not allowed to reveal the cover until release day, which is a shame, because artist Elaina Lee did an outstanding job.  So, until some time next week, here’s pretty much all I can share about Called To Arms Again.

—— 

Called to Arms Again
By J. L. Salter

Grit doesn’t fade away … it just becomes crusty.  With harrowing elements right out of today’s headlines, this story reaches back into the sturdy heartbeat of people raised during the Depression and tested during World War II.  Though the old uniforms haven’t fit in many decades, their resilient spirits still have that same intensity which helped save democracy.

Blurb:

Needing only a fresh angle to write her Veteran’s Day special, Kelly discovers first-hand that the Greatest Generation still has enough grit to fight back.  While all the authorities are occupied during a massive Homeland Security drill, an urban gang of thieves targets an isolated retirement subdivision … figuring the crippled geriatrics would offer no resistance.

Though Kelly’s widowed boyfriend came along only for a post-funeral luncheon, Mitch soon finds himself leading a mis-matched flanking team. Kelly’s good friend Wade has his own assignment, with a home-made mortar and lots of illegal gunpowder.

Maybe it’s difficult to remember everyday things like taking pills, but these octogenarians have never forgotten it was up to them to defend family, home, community, and country.  The outcome of their courageous stand depends on the resolve and resourcefulness of an unlikely ensemble of eccentric elderly neighbors, several American Legion members, and others spanning four generations.

——

I haven’t gone ‘all-out’ with promotion of my first two novels – romantic suspense and romantic comedy – but the sky’s the limit on promoting C2AA.

If you’re a Boomer — your parents, aunts, and uncles were members of the greatest generation.  Buy this book and read it yourself, because you’ll recognize these characters.  If you’re the child of a Boomer Generation parent, you need to read this so you’ll understand what your grand-parents (and their siblings) went through and how they prevailed.

If you were born before about 1929, you ARE part of the Greatest Generation and you’ll find yourself and your friends in my story!

Read it!  Pass the word!  Get this story into the hands of everyone who loves America!

QUESTION:
Who in YOUR live is (or was) a member of the Greatest Generation?

About Jeff Salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Fourteen completed novels and four completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Cowboy Out of Time" -- Apr. 2019 /// "Double Down Trouble" -- June 2018 /// "Not Easy Being Android" -- Feb. 2018 /// "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 /// "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 /// "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015 /// "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015 /// "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015 /// "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014 /// "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014 /// "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014 /// "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014 /// "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013 /// "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013 /// "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013 /// "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012 /// "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012 /// Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in Jeff Salter, Life, Miscellaneous, Random thoughts, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tribute to Greatest Generation

  1. Dianne says:

    Oh, I am looking forward to reading this!

    Like

  2. Iris B says:

    Congratulations, Jeff and let’s see the book on the bestseller list soon!!!!

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thank you, Iris. Oh, of course, every author would love to claim the word, “bestseller”, but my drive about this story is to honor the remaining members of the greatest generation before they pass away or become so sick that they couldn’t appreciate this tribute.

      Like

  3. Judy says:

    My favorite era …I wasn’t there but the emotional, patriotic, and character strength of the people during those days has always made me humble .. The stories I have heard from my family members and others who lived thru those times just make me so proud of them. Your book sounds like a winner.

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thanks, Judy. This is really the book “of my heart” — though that may sound corny to some. I love every one of the characters and the story is flag-waving patriotic without apology.

      Like

  4. I was never much of a Flag-waver, but I have come to appreciate what America was founded on and carried through so many times. Like you,I grew up hearing about “The War”, all the adults meant WWII and so many stories, so much of their lives and what came after was the direct result of all that happened because of “The War”.
    I think the ‘open’ weeks were generally for the very reason you used it, Jeff. I have had in guests and I think I have someone good lined up for next month , so good for you.On the other hand, I am going like the rest and going ‘free style’ tomorrow.
    I plan on putting down all of what I heard from the adults around me before those memories are gone; I’m glad you did.
    Good luck with this one, Jeff;I am looking forward to it.

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thanks, Tonette. I think this novel can be enjoyed on several different levels: the comedy, the action, the story (old folks vs. young punks), and the genuine romantic relationships where the couples represent 3 diff. generations.

      Like

  5. Jeff, if the term “book of my heart” is corny, then I’m definitely corn-fed. Mine was released last November, and I’m glad you were able to finish and publish yours! It sounds fascinating, and I can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Very moving journey you took, Jeff. Though I’m just a youngster (haha), I know I will enjoy this story. I have a healthy respect and awe for the Greatest Generation. Looking forward to it!

    Congratulations!

    Like

  7. Pingback: C2AA Now in Paperback | fourfoxesonehound

  8. Pingback: The Book of My Heart | Four Foxes, One Hound

Leave a comment